shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

Lisa Hannigan

leave a comment »

I had to dedicate my first post to my favourite singer-songwriter and performer, the beautiful and bewitching Lisa Hannigan.

Unsurprisingly, I first encountered Lisa via her haunting vocals on tracks such as ‘The Blower’s Daughter’ and ‘I Remember’ on Damien Rice’s debut album ‘O’. But I never had the pleasure of seeing her perform live until May of 2009; she parted ways with Rice in early 2007 before quickly starting work on her debut album ‘Sea Sew.’ And what an album it is.

To see Lisa perform live is truly special; you never want the evening to end and can’t believe that in each track she somehow sounds even better or does something a bit different to amaze and enthrall. But don’t take it from me; check out the numerous clips on You Tube and I guarantee you’ll fall in love with her quirky moves and quintessentially Irish ways.

‘Sea Sew’  is one of those rare albums which you can listen to every single day, and indeed I do! I could never grow tired of it and on each listen I find something different to love in the lyrics:

‘…I spoon you in to my coffee cup, spin you through a delicate wash, I wear you all day, I wear you all day…’ (‘Ocean and a Rock’)

My particular favourite tracks are ‘Ocean and a Rock’ and ‘Pistachio’ but as I say, picking an outright favourite is incredibly difficult. I urge everyone to get themselves a copy of ‘Sea Sew’, the album really is an amazing piece of work.

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

April 20, 2010 at 12:49 pm

Posted in Music I like - Folk

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

