shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

Countdown to Cambridge Folk Festival 2010

leave a comment »

I am heading to Cambridge Folk Festival to review this year and I can’t wait. With Irish ancestry, I suppose a love of live music, particularly folk, was to be expected; but it’s only been the past couple of years that I’ve really found this genre to be my writing niche.

Folk music has been described as ‘the music of the people’ due to its geographical, historical and cultural references. The genre has a universal, yet personal appeal.  I love the emotions that folk music conveys and am yet to find a sub-genre which I don’t find addictive and uplifting; whether that be American Bluegrass, Celtic Traditional or Yorkshire Roots. I like the idea that a crowd can be watching the same performer, yet they are being taken on a completely different journey; being reminded of their childhood, where they came from, family holidays growing up, their youth and the list goes on.

I am particularly looking forward to seeing the following artists at Cambridge this year: Natalie Merchant, Johnny Flynn and the Sussex Wit, The Unthanks and Stornoway. I have added some You Tube links below to show you why. I keep praying that Lisa Hannigan, Mumford and Sons and Noah and the Whale suddenly find a spare day in their hectic diaries to come along…one can but dream.

When my family and I visit Ireland each year (Killarney, Co Kerry), we go to a great live music and eating venue called The Danny Mann. It is really popular and gets packed out every night. The food is delicious (particularly the Kenmare Salmon with chilli and lime) and the live music is always brilliant. We have had many a great night here. If you find yourself in the area, please take my recommendation and pop along. You won’t be disappointed.

The Danny Mann, Killarney, County Kerry

http://www.evistonhouse.com/dynamicPage.asp?id=16

So if you’re heading to Cambridge this July, I hope you have a great festival. I’ll be the girl with the notepad, the dictaphone and the pint of Bulmers trying to master the fine art of the harmonica in the music workshop tent.

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

May 27, 2010 at 2:19 pm

Leave a Reply

