shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

Currently listening to…Miley, Mumford and Metric

leave a comment »

I didn’t even plan for the triple M’s there…

I like to consider myself as having an open-minded and therefore wide-ranging musical taste; my friend calls me fickle, I say no, I just like what I like, sometimes there doesn’t have to be reasoning!

I am currently listening to three songs which I really like: a big screen teen angst power ballad, a contemporary yet classic sounding folk beat and a stadium-rock belting number from Canada. That is; Miley Cyrus’s ‘When I Look At You’, Mumford and Sons’ ‘The Cave’ and Metric’s ‘Gimme Sympathy‘.

With regards to Cyrus, I have to say that I really enjoyed the film that this is featured on, ‘The Last Song’. My friend and I went to see it expecting to be surrounded by tweens but alas no, just a few fellow Miley fans, eager to see her big screen outing in the film adaptation of Nicholas Sparks’ new book of the same name. I have to say I love Nicholas Sparks’ writing too, you can’t beat a love story set in the deep south with floaty characters, elaborate declarations and hidden secrets. I also love  a power ballad and this is a great one to sing at fellow drivers on the mundane trip to your 9 to 5…just me then?

Metric are a Canadian indie-rock band who are really big stateside, but have only recently made the jaunt over this way to chance their arm. I saw them on Jools Holland and loved this song, I can imagine it going down a storm at festivals…or perhaps blasting out on a pier as Liam and Miley do the slow jog towards each other, grinning like Cheshire Cats, love it.

And as for Mumford, well I just love all the tracks on their debut album ‘Sigh No More.’ This is probably my favourite and never fails to get me tapping away (feet, fingers, QWERTY keyboard) to the brilliant beat.

Enjoy!

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

June 8, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

