shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

I love the ’80s

with 2 comments

"I said hip hop, a hibbi to da hibbi da hip hip hoppin, ya don't stop-a rockin' to da bang bang boogie say up jump da boogie to da rhythm to da boogie da beat!"

I would have to say that the ’80s is my favourite decade for music; the synthesizers, electronic keyboards, backcombed hair and spangley outfits. It wouldn’t be until the late ’80s however, that I would really remember these tracks and they would have any kind of influence on me.

I remember the first music video that I became enthralled by: Diana Ross’s ‘Chain Reaction.’ The sight of her dancing on that podium, all gleaming in the gaze of blinding strobe lights, looking so shiny and doll-like; many a Get in Shape Girl session was performed to this luminous lovely…a full exercise kit and video for the under 12s, you have to wonder what Hasbro were thinking, maybe it’s best not to!

I have tried to pick out my top five hits of the period and after much deliberation and Dobby-style self punishment, I think I have come to a final decision as follows:

1. ‘True’ by Spandau Ballet (’83)

I don’t think I could ever get bored of this song or indeed the New Romantic genre itself; I had hoped for a revival but increasingly feel that were music is concerned, you have to be very careful; things aren’t always better the second time around. I’m a big fan of Spandau Ballet in general, I also love ‘Through The Barricades’ and ‘Gold’, the latter always making me think of Northern Ireland, despite the fact I haven’t yet ventured to the hometown of the original Hanveys in County Down, but it’s on the to do list.

2. ‘Girls Just Want to Have Fun’ by Cyndi Lauper (’84)

I adore this song; as soon as the first few chords break in, it just puts a huge smile on my face. It makes me think of girls getting ready to go for a night out and not having a care in the world. I like innocent catchy pop numbers such as this; everything doesn’t always have to revolve around sex, drugs and rock n’ roll…I probably sound the most uncool 30-year-old ever in that statement!

3. ‘China in Your Hand’ by T’Pau (’87)

I remember being in junior school and belting this out in the playground. My friend Melissa and I went from believing we were witches, (largely brought on by ‘The Worst Witch’ phenomenon) to believing we were Annie and the orphans, eventually settling on Sinitta and seranading our male classmates with ‘So Macho.’ Oh the irony.

4. ‘Chain Reaction’ by Diana Ross (’86)

5. ‘Take on Me’ by A-Ha (’85)

Now I think most females my age would agree that A-Ha had a lot to offer; great melodies, catchy hooks, groundbreaking music videos…oh that’s right, I almost forgot about Morten Harket. Oh yes, I may have been aged six but I could still appreciate a fine figure of a man, dashing in and out of a broadsheet to rescue a damsel in distress…they just don’t make them like this anymore!

So there we have it; my top five tracks of the ’80s and as Rosie, the madcap meatball maker would say, enjoy and don’t stop-a rockin’ to da bang bang boogie.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Vault the other night had an 80’s night, strangely enough most of the above where on it !!
    Yep I enjoyed the 80’s , Adam & the ants Prince Charming was the 1st LP I bought !!! But I enjoyed the 90’s,and now appreciate a lot of Motown also .
    All the best Gareth

    zico01

    June 17, 2010 at 7:02 am

    • I’ve got a triple CD set called School Reunion – The ’80s. I listen to it every day, although the ’90s would be my school era, all the Stock Aitken and Waterman stuff! I’d love to have been at school in the ’60s or ’80s, the music was brilliant. The first LP I bought (with my own pocket money) was Kylie, the one with her hair sticking out of the hat with no top in it. Oh how I played it 🙂

      shelleyhanveywriter

      June 17, 2010 at 9:46 am


Leave a Reply

