'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

New tracks I like…Eliza Doolittle, Sia and Miike Snow

leave a comment »

I was having a browse at the UK singles chart yesterday and I have to say, I wasn’t all that keen on probably 80% of the tracks in the top 20. It’s personal opinion and taste obviously, but I wish there was more variety for our listening pleasure. I can’t really complain I suppose, as I don’t tend to download that many singles myself, preferring full albums of artists that I really like or am interested to hear more from.

I do like the following three tracks however, which are all released in the coming weeks.

First up, Eliza Doolittle with ‘Pack Up.’

Eliza (real name Eliza Sophie Caird) is a British singer-songwriter with a soulful voice and a contemporary quirky pop sound. She releases her debut self-titled album of 13 tracks on July 12th 2010. I really like her voice and I think she sounds a lot older than her 22 years, which gives her vocals a mature and warm feel, whilst still keeping a cool, innocent edge to her performance. I think she’ll be well received at her upcoming festival dates. I’m looking forward to seeing her at V.

Secondly, Sia (full name Sia Furler) with ‘Clap Your Hands.’

Australian singer-songwriter Sia has recently collaborated with Christina Aguilera on some tracks for her new album ‘Bionic‘, which I think are really great. Sia has a soulful voice with jazz and pop influences, whilst also possessing a quirky creative edge. I do appreciate a quirky female frontwoman! Citing her influences as Cyndi Lauper and Madonna, Sia has said that her fourth studio album ‘We Are Born‘ (from which this track is taken) delivers a more upbeat sound than its predecessors. Upbeat or down, I think Sia’s vocals possess that much desired sparkle and edge to carry off either tone.

Finally, a band which I have been a fan of since their emergence on to the UK music scene in the spring of 2009. Miike Snow are a Swedish trio made up of Andrew Wyatt, and the producing duo Bloodshy & Avant (real names Christian Karlsson and Pontus Winnberg) who have enjoyed considerable success, collaborating with artists such as Madonna, Kylie Minogue and Britney Spears. They have also remixed tracks by Passion Pit, Kings of Leon and Vampire Weekend. Their self-titled debut album features 11 tracks of an electro-pop/indie persuasion, and I think it’s amazing. I particularly like ‘Animal‘, ‘Burial‘ , ‘Silvia‘ and ‘Cult Logic.’ Their music videos are always brilliant too, full of colour, vibrancy and located in far-flung destinations most could only dream of visiting. Unless anyone wants to give me some money, then I need dream no more! I would urge anyone to get themselves a copy of this album; the trio are pure magic. ‘The Rabbit’ is a new single, to be included on a revamped, deluxe version of the album, to be released in July 2010.

Hope you find something you like.


Written by shelleyhanveywriter

June 19, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: