shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

Noah and the Whale, Manchester Cathedral review 3rd July 2010

with 2 comments

I was lucky enough to review Noah and the Whale this week at Manchester Cathedral. Seeing the band alone would have been treat enough for me, but to see them in a venue such as this was something else. Short excerpt below:

My favourite track came next and I don’t think that I was alone in that admission. ‘Love Of An Orchestra’ is one of those rare sounds that just grabs you and pulls you along for the ride; leaving you wondering what happened and where you are, but wanting to do it all over again. I can’t express my love for this track enough to do it justice in its simplicity and buoyancy, I just recommend that you give it a listen for yourselves and grapple for your own adjectives.

It was a brilliant and memorable night and I only hope that I get the chance to see the band again soon.They are performing at Latitude Festival this year, which I unfortunately can’t get to but the line up looks great. Perhaps they will find a spot free in their diaries to come to Cambridge Folk Festival; and if they do, Charlie Fink is more than welcome to assist me in my self teaching of the harmonica. Or I’ll just make him a brew, one of the two.

Full review is here: http://www.egigs.co.uk/index.php?a=13535

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

July 6, 2010 at 2:43 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A rather excellent review, summed up my feelings pretty accurately. Love Of An Orchestra was definitely a highlight – but my personal favourite from the set would have to be First Days Of Spring. It truly gave me the chills, especially with the atmosphere provided by the cathedral. The support were surprisingly good, too, I thought.

    Margok

    July 8, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    • Thank you so much. It was such a brilliant show. I didn’t catch the support unfortunately. I think there was something about every song for me, I can’t think of one that I don’t love off either album, which is rare for me! Some of the lyrics are just amazing, really simple but when combined with Fink’s vocals they just take on a whole new dimension. I could go on for hours!

      shelleyhanveywriter

      July 8, 2010 at 5:28 pm


Leave a Reply

