shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

Tired Pony’s new album ‘The Place We Ran From’ – out 12.07.10

with 2 comments

Tired Pony, 'The Place We Ran From', out 12th July 2010

In May 2009, Gary Lightbody expressed his love for country music during an interview and his intention to record a country album. In the October of 2009, he announced the members of a ‘supergroup’ who he had brought together to record this album. They were: Peter Buck of R.E.M, Iain Archer, Richard Colburn of Belle & Sebastian and producer Garret Lee. Contributions to this album also came from She and Him duo M Ward and Zooey Deschanel and Tom Smith of Editors. The group would be called Tired Pony.

Now it was a few years before that, when I expressed my love for both Gary Lightbody and his songwriting; so it comes as no surprise to me that I think this album is simply rather marvellous. I love country music, as well as the combination of Lightbody’s vocals and the sweeping lyrical imagery of dusty american plains and quaint little watering holes, ringing out with the sound of strings and the smell of sarsaparilla…I have seen Calamity Jane far too many times…‘Oh the Deadwood Stage is a-rollin’ on over the plains, with the curtains flappin’ and the driver slappin’ the reins. Beautiful sky! A wonderful day! Whip crack-away! Whip crack-away, Whip crack-away!’

God I love that movie and the exceptional Doris Day.  

But back to Tired Pony.

The band’s debut album ‘The Place We Ran From’ hits the shops and the net next Monday 12th July 2010.  For a sneak preview please follow the link below to their official You Tube page:

http://www.youtube.com/user/TiredPonyOfficial

My favourite tracks on first listen are ‘Dead American Writers’, ‘Point Me At Lost Islands’, ‘Get On The Road’ and ‘Held In The Arms Of Your Words.’ Vintage Lightbody at his songwriting best; I could truly listen to this man all day and never get bored; singing, talking, blogging, humming whilst ironing his sweatervests…but enough of my idol worship!

Tired Pony’s debut single ‘Dead American Writers’ is available to download now and I am sure a series of live dates will follow. I’ll be first in line that’s for sure.

www.tiredpony.com

 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love Tired Pony and the album is brilliant! Dead American Writers is a really good single and is definitely one of my favourites from the album. I’m looking forward to hearing more great things from this band and i’d love to see them live.

    innocentmusic

    July 19, 2010 at 4:31 pm

  2. So would I! I’ve been a fan of Snow Patrol/Gary Lightbody for years and I really like the country sound to this album and his voice. I’d love them to tour in the autumn/winter, fingers crossed! x

    shelleyhanveywriter

    July 19, 2010 at 5:47 pm


Leave a Reply

