shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

Cambridge Folk Festival…a delight of a reviewing weekend

leave a comment »

Well, I’m back from what can only be described as a weekend of reviewing the best festival I’ve ever had the pleasure of being invited to – the 2010 Co-operative Cambridge Folk Festival.

This being my maiden voyage to the award-winning and highly respected Cambridge institution; I had an idea in mind of what I might expect to greet me there, but I can honestly say that all my expectations were exceeded over the course of the 3.5 day extravaganza.

I am just in the process of writing up my full review, complete with some great photographs, for www.efestivals.co.uk and I will post the link up here too.  In the meantime though, I leave you with a selection of my favourite artists from the weekend: Seth Lakeman, Johnny Flynn and the Sussex Wit, Cocos Lovers, Stornoway, Sharon Shannon and Imelda May and Salsa Celtica. It really was difficult to choose from all the exciting performances I managed to see; they each brought something different to the table, but all captured the true essence of folk; spirit-rousing, foot-tapping, heart-thumping performances that left the crowd shouting for more and left the atmosphere buzzing.

Enjoy and please visit back here for the link to the full review…

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

August 2, 2010 at 3:26 pm

Leave a Reply

