shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

Cambridge Folk Festival 2010 – review

with one comment

Well 5,000 words and a couple of very late nights later, and my review of the 2010 Co-operative Cambridge Folk Festival is finally completed.

I wanted to write the review in narrative form, as it happened, so as to give the best impression of what future festival-goers might expect. I do find it difficult to write objectively at times; especially as I only tend to go to gigs and shows of artists which I really like; so something would have to go terribly wrong for me not to enjoy them! I genuinely enjoyed every minute of the festival though and can’t wait for next year. I’d like to learn more about the history of folk music; an aim which my current boss found quite amusing yesterday, the conversation going as thus:

Me: “…so I didn’t know a lot of the songs that were performed, you know, the traditional pieces, but I just figured that I’d catch a few words and then Google it…”

Peter: “…you figured you’d Google pieces of music that have been studied for thousands of years; that academics have travelled far and wide and researched extensively to find the origination and authorship of…you figured you’d just…Google it?!”

Me:”…erm…..yeah?”

At that point he looked slightly perturbed, turned with his tea and laughed as he went.

The link to my review for eFestivals can be found below, please take a look and let me know what you think. It’s divided in to three parts; I wrote a lot!

http://www.efestivals.co.uk/festivals/cambridgefolk/2010/reviews.shtml

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good insight into a festival, i’d heard of but knew little about.
    I admit folk is something I never “really ” got into, bar Seth Lakeman, i saw him nearly 10 yrs ago probably, supporting Jools Holland, and people like Duke Special, ( theres a singer ! ) , and Sea sick Steve is great !
    I like the concept of the festival being more family orientated, it looked a pretty relaxed, yet knowledgable atmosphere ? !
    Nice writing, all the best Gareth

    zico01

    August 6, 2010 at 7:35 am


Leave a Reply

