shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

I love a Power Ballad; Nilsson, Peter Cetera and Meatloaf

with 2 comments

Daniel san and Mr Miyagi

I kicked back yesterday to watch a film I haven’t seen for years; Karate Kid III. Not as good as the original I’ll concede, but still an enjoyable way to spend a lazy Sunday afternoon. Daniel LaRusso (Ralph Macchio) has still got it in the third installment of the ’80s classic saga…and in my opinion, the best on screen tag team with Mr Miyagi. God rest his soul. Being a few years older and wiser by now, I can’t believe the corny lines and acting that came courtesy of bad guy Terry Silver and his pack of equally moronic sidekicks, but I think the beauty of the trilogy doesn’t lie in the acting or even the scriptwriting, but rather the message it conveys to children, young people and adults the world over; that strength, power and honour comes from within, not from a belt, a badge or a reputation.

This got me to thinking…about Power Ballads.

I love nothing more than a good power ballad to belt out, whilst making various clenching fist motions; and the Karate Kid saga has plenty such tracks for your clenching pleasure.

"FINISH HIM!" (Kreese)....."We did it Mr Miyagi!" (Daniel san)

If I had to choose my favourite three power ballads, I would probably sit in a darkened room for several hours, asking for refills of Yorkshire Tea, whilst pondering my options; eventually emerging, squinting from the light, dishevelled and looking far from my best, but with the top three firmly in my grasp.

Those being: ‘I’d Do Anything for Love (But I Won’t Do That)’ by Meatloaf, ‘Without You’ by Nilsson and ‘Hard to Say I’m Sorry’ by Chicago.

I really like Meatloaf; artist and tv personality,  his huge voice in no way overshadowing his unpredictable and always noteworthy sense of humour. This track still gets a considerable amount of airplay, cementing its immovable place in the nation’s hearts. I love to sing the female vocals on this one and imagine that I’m on stage with Meatloaf…intimidating, yet I bet an unforgettable experience!

I did some reading up on Nilsson (Harry Edward Nilsson III) last week, just out of a casual interest really and found out some very interesting facts. Interesting to me you understand; you might be completely bored and unphased by such snippets…each to their own! The Beatles (my favourite all-time group) were actually huge fans of Nilsson, with John Lennon and the man himself striking up a particularly close and well-documented friendship; complete with tales of drunken binges in LA and various other such rock star activities. Profoundly affected by the murder of his friend Lennon, Nilsson later began campaigning against gun violence. Nilsson’s later chart ventures never really met with the same success of ’71 album ‘Nilsson Schmilsson’, which had produced three hit singles: the aforementioned ‘Without You’, the quirky and addictive ‘Coconut’ and the high-energy, hard-rock sound of ‘Jump into the Fire.’ I had no idea the smooth-sounding Nilsson had been such a rebel in his heyday!

I am a huge Chicago fan and also love tracks such as ‘If You Leave Me Now’, and Karate Kid II soundtrack favourite ‘Glory of Love.’ Such great melodies, poignant (admittedly, sometimes overly gushy) lyrics and the best head of hair any man could hope to own. They just don’t make them like this anymore; where are the Peter Ceteras for today’s generation?

And so I leave you to ponder your own favourite power ballads, with a final thought in mind;

Daniel-san, never put passion before principle. Even if win, you lose.

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

August 9, 2010 at 3:31 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Loved your choices, I would have had to include any song by Rod the Mod though D x

    Doreen Williams

    August 15, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    • Hi Doreen,
      Thanks for having a read! I like some of Rod the Mod’s songs, but I think the tight pants have always put me off slightly, ha ha 🙂 Chicago and The Carpenters would have to be my favs of the time x

      shelleyhanveywriter

      August 16, 2010 at 11:11 am


Leave a Reply

