shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

New tracks I like: KT Tunstall, Marina, Enrique and The Script

leave a comment »

There are some great tracks due for release in the coming weeks; I have listened to several and picked my favourites of the bunch:

KT Tunstall ‘(Still A) Weirdo’ (released September 20th, 2010)

This mellow and quirky track is taken from Tunstall’s new album ‘Tiger Suit’, which is set for release on September 27th, 2010. 2004’s ‘Eye to the Telescope’ which was a worldwide success, was one of my favourite albums of that year and I still listen to it regularly now. Tracks such as ‘Other Side of the World’, ‘Black Horse and the Cherry Tree’ and ‘Suddenly I See’ never seem to age and I find something different that I like in the lyrics with each airing.  I wondered when Tunstall would be back with her trademark acoustic guitar and insightful takes on subjects such as romance, family history and…still being a weirdo! I look forward to the new album and to seeing Tunstall live in the coming months.

Marina and the DiamondsShampain’ (released September 27th, 2010)

The unusually spelt ‘Shampain’ is taken from Marina’s debut album ‘The Family Jewels.’ The album and artist have soared in popularity this year with other hits such as ‘Hollywood’, and my personal favourite, debut single ‘I Am Not a Robot.’ I love a strong, funkily dressed, eccentric female lead so unsurprisingly, I also love this album. Comparisons have been made with Florence Welch, predominantly due to their equally striking vocal instruments but I think Marina’s strength lies in her new wave/pop-fused songwriting skills and I like a track I can dance to which you could with Florence, but may end up either giving yourself a hernia or looking like you’ve taken too many Night Nurse tablets.

Enrique Iglesias ft Nicole ScherzingerHeartbeat’ (released September 27th)

Oh Enrique, Enrique, Enrique, Enrique, where dost I begin? This track is taken from his latest album, July 2010’s ‘Euphoria.’ I have been a fan of Enrique for many years and I stand loud and proud with that admission. I love his tracks; the ballads, the up-tempo numbers, the crazy dance floor dittys, I simply love them all. Yes I’ll admit it, it doesn’t hurt that he looks like a god of men either, but I am sure that my love truly lies in the music…I’m sure…I think…

The Script ‘For The First Time’ (released September 5th, 2010)

This is the first single from the Irish pop-rock trio’s second album ‘Science and Faith’, set for release on September 13th, 2010. If I’m honest I wasn’t particularly a fan of this band with their first self-titled album, only liking one of the singles that they released from the record which was ‘The Man Who Can’t Be Moved.’ I just felt like they weren’t entirely sure what their niche was, with some tracks falling in to the R&B category, some in to the Pop-Rock category and others being a mish-mash of the two; I felt very confused. I’m all for diversity and I like seeing different elements of a band’s talents on a record, but it felt like they were just as confused as I was. I really like this track though; could it perhaps be because it’s taken from an album which focuses on the current economic and social climate in Ireland? I think it just might!

🙂

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

August 19, 2010 at 1:32 pm

Leave a Reply

