shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

The Blogger Awards; I am experiencing stirrings in the upper abdominals…

leave a comment »

Regular visitors to my blog may have noticed one small, yet perfectly formed addition to the homepage; the very stately and suitably regal Creative Blogger Award. Much like Mr Firth, I too find myself experiencing stirrings in the upper abdominals as I write this, as I have been awarded what you might call a token of esteem, a tipped hat or other such august accolade, courtesy of…well, my boyfriend. However, as my inspiration and childhood muse himself did write;  ‘a rose (or award) by any other name would smell as sweet‘, so I accept such a gesture with heartfelt thanks and feel it only right and proper to share such good fortune with my fellow bloggers.

The Blogger Awards were the brainchild of a young lady called Christy, who herself writes no less than eight blogs, as well as several freelance articles for HubPages. Christy wanted to acknowledge her fellow writers in the blogosphere and recommend their work to others; therefore creating The Thoughtful Blogger, The Inspirational Blogger, The Charity Blogger, The Creative Blogger and The Courageous Blogger awards. Bloggers are invited to award these grandiose titles to their peers by referencing their articles, providing links to their pages and just generally giving them some much-needed praise and recognition. Details of the awards and links to the images can be found at:

http://www.writersreviews.com/2007/07/writers-reviews-blogger-awards.html

So, back to my Creative Blogger Award.

The award is to recognise those who bring

…unique and creative elements to their blogs. For those who incorporate art, music, creative writing, photo’s, and other beautiful visual effects into their website. For those who put a unique spin on things and come up with new ideas. This award is for the artsy, the funky, the inventor, and even the rebel. This award is for those creative individuals who stand out from the crowd.

If I do all that, then I am a very happy blogger! Sometimes it’s the easiest thing in the world to do;  write on a subject that you are passionate about, but there are always those times when you doubt how much you even have to say or whether anyone will actually want to read it. For this reason, I am very grateful to all of my readers for taking the time to have a quick look at my latest posts. I’d particularly like to thank my sister Lynsey, my best friend Zoe and my sister’s boyfriend Neil, as they have always been especially supportive of my writing and I wouldn’t have even started this blog without their encouragement…ok, now I really do sound like Mr Firth, I’ll be namechecking the lovely Livia next.

The Inspirational Blogger Award – awarded to http://lynzfaith.wordpress.com

This award is for those bloggers who

inspire others through their words and actions. With a positive attitude, and an uplifting spirit these bloggers make the blogosphere a better place, and encourage others to do the same. This award is for bloggers who rise up to set an example but continue to reach out and support others.

My sister Lynsey wanted to start her own blog , focusing on her degree subject of Psychology. Not wishing to make the blog too formal or heavy-going, she decided to take a conversational, yet educational approach to her writing; combining lighthearted and feel good musings with topical and factual references. I very much enjoy reading her posts and hope that others continue to do so too.

The Thoughtful Blogger Award – awarded to http://zico01.wordpress.com

This award is for those who

answer blog comments, emails, and make their visitors feel at home on their blogs. For the people who take others feelings into consideration before speaking out and who are kind and courteous. Also for all of those bloggers who spend so much of their time helping others bloggers design, improve, and fix their sites. This award is for those generous bloggers who think of others.

When I first started this blog and had the awful realisation that no one might ever read, let alone comment on my posts, I was contacted by a very thoughtful gent called Gareth. Gareth has his own very successful blog on parenthood which can be viewed at the link above. Gareth always takes the time to comment and acknowledge my latest pieces and for that, I am very grateful.

So please, go forth and bestow these titles as you see fit on your chosen bloggers; I am sure that it will make their day just as it has mine. Now I must depart this stage as they’ve started to play the music…

shelleyhanveywriter 🙂

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

March 2, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

