shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow…to the last syllable of recorded time @BRIT_Awards

leave a comment »

To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow, Creeps in this petty pace from day to day,  To the last syllable of recorded time…

Macbeth Act 5, Scene 5, 19-21

After hearing that his beloved and rather terrifying better half, Lady Macbeth, has died, my favourite of all Shakespeare’s main protagonists discusses his indifference to the event and to the path that his murderous actions have led him on. Macbeth speaks about the mechanical beat of time as it transports him scene to scene, referring to time as a mere sequence of words. Macbeth hyperbolizes this reference to such an extent as to liken his current frame of mind to ‘the last syllable of recorded time’ – I felt much the same after the first couple of minutes of Damon Albarn’s acceptance speech at last night’s 2012 BRIT Awards.

To be fair, Albarn had every right to thank all those colleagues and friends which had helped Blur on their road to success and he did appear most humble. The ill-advised action of cutting the winner of the biggest award of the night, was down to poor time management on behalf of the producers and Adele, understandably, won’t have concerned herself with their excuses.

Just one major surprise of the night for me, which was One Direction claiming the award for Best Single. I’m not sure why I’m surprised really, as the award was voted for by the general public and their fans are evidently loyal, to the death (threats) in some cases.

British Male Solo Artist

Ed Sheeran / James Blake  / James Morrison  / Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds / Professor Green

My tip: Ed Sheeran.

Winner: Ed Sheeran. Sheeran performed his latest single, ‘Lego House’ at the ceremony and was clearly a popular winner with the audience. I had rather hoped to see Ron Weasley sitting beside him on the night, but had to content myself with the great industry unwashed.

British Female Solo Artist

Adele / Florence + the Machine / Jessie J / Kate Bush / Laura Marling

My tip: Adele.

Winner: Adele. Adele performed ‘Rolling In The Deep’ at the ceremony and was cited as the artist which fellow artists and celebrity guests were most looking forward to seeing. I hope Adele remains as down to earth and humble as she appears; if she didn’t it would be completely understandable as her past life is surely barely recognisable in comparison to her new reality. It would be disappointing though, as she appears to be so charming and genuinely awestruck at her achievements.

British Breakthrough Act

Anna Calvi / Ed Sheeran / Emeli Sandé / Jessie J / The Vaccines

My tip: Jessie J.

Winner: Ed Sheeran. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I was disappointed not to see Will Young in the running for Best Male; I’m not sure it ‘fits’ that a winner of British Breakthrough should also be awarded Best Male. To me, Young would have been a worthy and popular winner and Sheeran could rightly have taken this award.

British Group

Arctic Monkeys / Chase & Status / Coldplay / Elbow / Kasabian

My tip: Coldplay.

Winner: Coldplay. No major surprises here. Coldplay also performed live on the night and were enjoyable as always. I realised last night that two of the members of the band look strikingly similar to two of my best friend’s ex-boyfriends…interesting. I think that she is secretely part of some government Coldplay cloning process.

British Single

Adele: ‘Someone Like You’

Ed Sheeran: ‘The A Team’

Example: ‘Changed The Way You Kiss Me’

Jessie J feat B.o.B: ‘Price Tag’

JLS feat Dev: ‘She Makes Me Wanna’

Military Wives and Gareth Malone: ‘Wherever You Are’

Olly Murs feat Rizzle Kicks: ‘Heart Skips A Beat’

One Direction: ‘What Makes You Beautiful’

Pixie Lott: ‘All About Tonight’

The Wanted: ‘Glad You Came’

My tip: Jessie  J. ‘Price Tag’

Winner: One Direction: ‘What Makes You Beautiful’. A catchy track I will admit, sometimes annoyingly so. It was quite touching to see how genuinely surprised the boys were. My favourite is the Irish one, for purely genealogical reasons. His name is irrelevant.

Mastercard British Album Of The Year

Adele: 21 / Coldplay: Mylo Xyloto / Ed Sheeran: + / Florence + the Machine: / Ceremonials / PJ Harvey: Let England Shake

My tip: Ed Sheeran: +

Winner: Adele: 21. I wonder what she was going to say. We may never know…

International Male Solo Artist

Aloe Blacc / Bon Iver / Bruno Mars / David Guetta / Ryan Adams

My tip: Bruno Mars.

Winner: Bruno Mars. Mars may have the whitest teeth I have ever seen on a human being, and the smoothest skin. Yes, I admit it, I have quite the crush on the romantic crooner but did not realise how short he was! I am, however, willing to overlook this.

International Female Solo Artist

Beyoncé / Bjork / Feist / Lady Gaga / Rihanna

My tip: Beyonce.

Winner: Rihanna. Rihanna performed latest single ‘We Found Love’ at the ceremony; I lose track of which is in fact her latest single, there seems to be so many released in quick succession. A popular performer with the audience. I do enjoy a nice sweater dress, but would probably pair it with some lovely knitted aztec leggings before leaving the house.

International Group

Fleet Foxes / Foo Fighters /  Jay Z and Kanye West / Lady Antebellum / Maroon 5

My tip: Jay Z and Kanye West.

Winner: Foo Fighters. The Fighters were not in attendance, which I always find incredibly disappointing and a waste of an award to be honest. With today’s high-tech diarised devices, there really is no excuse for missing a big event. Death, perhaps.

International Breakthrough Act

Aloe Blacc / Bon Iver / Foster The People / Lana Del Rey / Nicki Minaj

My tip: Lana Del Rey.

Winner: Lana Del Rey. Del Rey was rather sweet upon collecting her award and was no doubt pleased to have some positive publicity after recent weeks. I personally don’t see what all the fuss was about Stateside; she’s never going to sing pitch perfect as she has a distinct style which doesn’t necessitate it. She is what I would refer to as an emotalist; a personally coined phrase which I would use to describe a singer who uses her emotions to govern her vocals and as we females well know – that could be highs, then lows, then everything inbetween and in no immediately evident pattern.

shelleyhanveywriter 🙂

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

February 22, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Leave a Reply

