shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

Wednesday’s child need not be woeful; thrice the joy courtesy of Jason Mraz, Lianne La Havas and Grimes

leave a comment »

 

Jason Mraz has always held a soft spot in my heart and record collection. He sits most comfortably between Bruno Mars and Patrick Monahan (lead singer of Train), but there is plenty of room on that particular chaise longue. I love ‘I’m Yours’ and now I love ‘I Won’t Give Up’; what can I say, I’m a Cancer and therefore an incurable romantic…and believe me, I’ve tried. Mraz’s new album ‘Love Is A Four Letter Word’ is released on April 17th, 2012.

www.jasonmraz.com

 

Lianne La Havas is a folk and soul singer-songwriter from London and has been working with one of my favourite artists, Aqualung, for the past couple of years. His shining influence can certainly be heard on La Havas’s sublimely soulful debut single, ‘Lost & Found.’ The track will be released in the UK on April 30th, 2012, followed by debut album, ‘Is Your Love Big Enough’ on July 9th, 2012. I expect to hear a lot more from this stunning artist in 2012.

www.liannelahavas.com

 

Grimes is the stage name of Canadian indie-electronic artist, Claire Boucher. Her debut album, ‘Geidi Primes’ was released in 2010, shortly followed by second album, ‘Halfaxa’. After touring the US with Lykke Li, Grimes announced via Twitter in January 2012, that she had signed with a new record label and subsquently released her third full-length record, ‘Visions’ (February 2012 in the US and March 2012 in Europe). ‘Oblivion’ is a perfect taster of the type of electrifying eccentricity that you can expect from the rest of this album and the video is bountifully quirky too.

www.grimesmusic.com

shelleyhanveywriter 🙂

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

March 21, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

