shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

The astral and all-embracing debut album from 2:54 @twofiftyfour

leave a comment »

I cited 2:54 as a band to watch back in January of this year and if airplay this week is anything to go by; I wasn’t half wrong.

2:54 are an electronic/shoegaze band from Bristol, centred around siblings Colette and Hannah Thurlow. Their self-titled debut album will be released on May 28th, 2012 in the UK and it is certainly shaping up to be one of the most anticipated records of the year. The band took their name from their favourite moment in a Melvins track, which happens to take place 2 minutes and 54 seconds in. I like this logic. If I were to use such a method for selecting the name of my imaginary band, it would be 3:21 (‘Run’ by Snow Patrol).

 

I first came across the band upon hearing their track , ‘Got A Hold’, then went on to discover the likes of ‘Scarlet’ and ‘Creeping’, each track equally astral and all-embracing. You can pre-order signed copies of the album at the following link: http://www.smarturl.it/254signed.

 

I’ve included a live version of ‘Circuitry’ above. This is my favourite 2:54 track at the moment; very similar to School of Seven Bells, which is my current favourite find of 2012. I think 2:54 are going to achieve great things this year and I look forward to a full tour of the UK very soon.

www.twofiftyfour.net

shelleyhanveywriter 🙂

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

May 23, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

