shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

m83 completes his sci-fi music video trilogy with the post-apocalyptic wonders of ‘Wait’

leave a comment »

kid

I’ve been a little lapse of late in my reviewing duties, primarily due to the fact that I’ve re-entered that great and slightly intimidating world of academia. Most of my passing thoughts now revolve around critically reflective learning, the student, the student-learner and the student-teacher; know the difference? Nope, neither do I but hey I’ve just started and have 24 months to convince myself otherwise, or at the very least convince my tutor.

I did however recently come across a rather epic, in every sense of the word, music video which I would like to share.

 

‘Wait’ is the final installment or episode if you will, of the sci-fi music video trilogy which was the result of a collaboration between m83 and Fleur & Manu. The episode follows on from ‘Midnight City’ and ‘Reunion’, which both feature on m83′s sixth studio album ‘Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming.’ The band was named after the spiral galaxy Messier 83; the predilection for astronomy-inspired artwork therefore coming as no great surprise. The band was also originally a two-piece but is now largely the sole work of French electronic artist, Anthony Gonzalez. If you would like to view the trilogy in full, – it is the season after all – click on the link below to directors Fleur & Manu‘s official website. You can also view other collaborative efforts as part of The Creators Project below.

The third installment of the trilogy puts me in mind of one of my favourite and most referenced fantasy adventure films of the 80s; The Neverending Story. The mildly terrifying child in the video bears a striking resemblance to the Childlike Empress…had she been transported to a post-apocalyptic world via a flying sterling silver triangle and a couple of grey wolves. Material for a fourth film perhaps? If so, I definitely think Fleur & Manu should be on board, with m83 providing the soundtrack.

http://thecreatorsproject.com/en-uk/videos/m83-wait-by-fleur-manu

http://www.divisionparis.com/directors/fleur-manu/

shelleyhanveywriter 🙂

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

December 11, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Leave a Reply

