shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

The exquisite and complex darkness of CHVRCHES

leave a comment »

chvrches-churches-lauren

CHVRCHES is a Scottish three-piece, electropop outfit who are making great leaps on both sides of the Atlantic at the moment. The band is made up of Lauren Mayberry (main vocals, synthesizers), Iain Cook (synthesizers, vocals) and Martin Doherty (synthesizers, vocals). After just two short years together, the trio were nominated and came fifth in the BBC Sound of 2013 poll.

CHVRCHES remind me of another of my favourite electro bands; School of Seven Bells, and Mayberry’s vocals and persona on stage are strikingly similar to Alejandra Deheza (Bells’ lead singer). As the tracks below (‘The Mother We Share’ and ‘Lies’) indicate, the two bands share an exquisite and complex darkness, their melodies are cloaked in mystery and this puts me in mind of my favourite Sex and the City quote. The quote appears in Season 2 episode, ‘La Douleur Exquise’, when Carrie calls time on her latest dalliance with Mr Big. Carrie closes the scene and the relationship, with the line:

Some part of me was holding me back, knowing I had gone too far. Reached my limit.
And just like that, I had untied myself from Mr. Big.
I was free. But there was nothing exquisite about it.

Music and emotions cannot be untied, certainly not for me and my favourite bands and artists are those that evoke a feeling or memory in me; CHVRCHES are one of those bands. I like to listen to a track and imagine that it’s playing in the background as I deliver my own effortlessly wise and quick-witted final line. Of course, things never happen quite like that in real life!

 

 

The band has announced that their debut album will be released in September, 2013. If you are in the region and fancy catching them live, CHVRCHES will play Sound Control, Manchester on May 1st, 2013. Tickets are available from March 1st, 2013.

CHVRCHES will release the RECOVER EP via Goodbye Records / Virgin Records as a digital download on March 25th, 2013 in the UK (via Glassnote in the US on 26 March 26th, 2013). The EP will also be available in the UK as a limited edition 12-inch vinyl on April 20th, 2013 for Record Store Day.

www.twitter.com/CHVRCHES / http://chvrches.tumblr.com/

shelleyhanveywriter 🙂

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

February 28, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Leave a Reply

