shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

Masters, Hens and Cherry Ghosts

leave a comment »

birdy_album_review

So it’s been a while since my last post. I’ve been busy with studying for my Masters, organising hen weekends, becoming a Godmother and doing a bit of private tuition on the side. But now I’m back, to let you know, I can really shake ’em down…yep, there’s been time for a few classic romance dramas too.

I’ve been listening to one of my favourite chillout albums a lot recently; Birdy‘s 2011 self-titled debut. I’ve decided that her cover of Cherry Ghost‘s ‘People Help the People’ is one of my all time favourite songs. In fact, I’m yet to hear a remix of the song that I don’t like. There’s a great one on Chilled Ibiza by Two Inch Punch. I first heard the original song at a festival that I reviewed back in 2011; Friends of Mine Festival. The track has clearly stood the test of time, much unlike the festival which was canned after a year due to the company going in to voluntary liquidation after failing to pay debts to artists, individuals and suppliers. The line-up was as ambitious as the financial projections, it would appear.

Regardless, I will always fondly remember the first time I heard this track and will likely never get another chance to see Cherry Ghost perform live; for which, friends of mine, I am truly grateful.

 

shelleyhanveywriter 🙂

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

August 29, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

