shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

I Don’t Want To Change You

leave a comment »

The second full length track has been released from Damien Rice‘s upcoming third album, ‘My Favourite Faded Fantasy’ (Ireland – October 31st, 2014, UK & EU – November 3rd, 2014, Australia and NZ – November 7th, 2014).

‘I Don’t Want To Change You’ is as reflective, emotive and orchestral as you might expect, but there is a definite shift in tone from the bitter frankness of tracks such as ‘Rootless Tree’ and ‘Me, My Yoke and I’, as featured on 2006’s ‘9‘. Perhaps, after his time away from the spotlight, Rice has found some inner stillness and finally made peace with his history and histrionics. I rather hope not, because no one does heartbreak and repressed rage quite like him. ‘Elephant’ is my second favourite Rice track (unsurprisingly perhaps, given that it was said to be originally titled ‘The Blower’s Daughter, Pt. 2’). The last sentence is so perfect: “well you can both keep me pinned, ’cause it’s easier to tease, but you can’t make me happy, quite as good as me…well you know that’s a lie“. Just like Rice to flip the entire meaning of a track in the last six words.

All of the U.S. and European tour dates recently released have sold out, and tickets are selling online via auction sites for up to £2,000. I’m keeping everything crossed for more UK dates and will post details as soon as I get them.

shelleyhanveywriter 🙂

http://www.damienrice.com

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

September 25, 2014 at 11:48 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

