shelleyhanveywriter

'Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences'

Charm necklaces from Etsy.com

with one comment

I simply must stop looking for new pieces of jewellery to share, as I end up convincing myself that I too need these items and am doing myself a dis-service by depriving myself of them…what do I work for, if not to treat myself daily with 57 charm necklaces? Exactly…! 

I had a browse on a great little site called Etsy today (www.etsy.com); I say little, it is in fact a worldwide forum for amongst other things – handmade jewellery designers. As all of the items are handmade, you can pick up some gorgeous original pieces for a fraction of the price that you would pay in high street stores, plus, you don’t walk around with the same necklace as thousands of other people. 

I have picked a selection of my favourites for you to peruse at your leisure; they are all available for international shipping for a small fee and you won’t find pieces like this anywhere else. Grab yourself a charm from Canada or a pendant from Peru; go on, go on, go on, as fellow tea-loving Irishwoman Mrs Doyle would say… 

Teacher's Pet Charm Necklace

 http://www.etsy.com/listing/51395384/teachers-pet?ref=cat3_list_6 

24 USD (approx. £15.88) This adorable little photo locket is a perfect necklace for the teacher, student or librarian. The photo locket is antique brass and measures about 1″x3/4″ Alongside it hangs a Czech red glass apple and a pair of 3/4″ silver glasses all hanging on a 24″ brass chain. Chain can be made longer or shorter upon request. 

I was a bit of a teacher’s pet at school; I never hand delivered any apples, but I did take great satisfaction at being the first to thrust my hand in to the air to answer her questions. Except if they were times tables; Maths is not my strong point, probably explains why I always miscalculate my finances each month, or is that to do with internet jewellery shopping…hmm, it’s a thinker. 

He and She Double Zodiac Charm Necklace

 http://www.etsy.com/listing/27258898/he-and-she-double-zodiac-charm-pendant?ref=cat3_list_14 

 49 USD (approx. £32.42) Two sterling silver zodiac charms of your choice will be decorated with stones of your choice and freshwater pearls. These pendants will hang from 16″ chain with a lobster clasp. Great way to represent you and your partner, or your children. Shown in the pictures are Leo with champagne quartz and Capricorn with ruby. 

I think this is quite a cute idea; a nice gift for a loved one perhaps, or a way to declare your love via Royal Mail to Marvin from JLS…just me then? 

Tree of Life Charm Necklace

 http://www.etsy.com/listing/51376551/tree-of-life-charm-locket-necklace?ref=cat3_list_19 

 30 USD (approx. £19.85) This lovely necklace is made with antique brass chain and is 18″ long. The locket is a round brass locket with a gorgeous image of a flowering tree of life with a light cobalt blue background. Adorning the locket is a charm in a soft shade of blue. The closure is a toggle clasp in antique brass. 

Art was also not my strong point at school, but I still like the Tree of Life Charm Necklace. In fact, the only thing I could draw which vaguely resembled the actual object, was a tree. And a matchstick man. Matchstick man climbing a tree. In a tree. Waving from a tree. You get the picture. 

No Place Like Home Charm Necklace

 http://www.etsy.com/listing/49794442/silver-compass-locket-enchanted-no-place?ref=cat3_list_7 

24 USD (approx. £15.88) This enchanted necklace features a beautiful locket adorned with a vintage style compass, a sparrow in flight and a rosary connector. The chain measures 18 inches long and is secured with a lobster clasp. The locket is 1 and 1/4 inches tall and has space for two photos or anything else you choose to put inside. All components are professionally plated in a rich, thick sterling silver with an oxidized finish. 

I have always been intrigued by two things; globes and compasses. I think it’s the notion of finding your way home or your place in the world. I used to love looking at globes at school and pointing to a place far away and wondering whether I would ever get there. There’s still some places I haven’t managed to get to yet; Marrakech and New York being at the top of the list. 

Sweetie Pie Charm Necklace

 http://www.etsy.com/listing/50904567/sweetie-pie-necklace?ref=sr_list_30&ga_search_query=friends+necklace&ga_search_type=&ga_page=&order=&includes[]=tags&includes[]=title 

14 USD (approx. £9.26) A hand stamped sweetie pie necklace featuring a yummy slice of pie on a tiny plate with a tiny fork on a 20″ (50cm)chain. A great gift for a sweet daughter, sister or friend especially one who loves to bake! 

This is so sweet and I’ve never seen anything like it before. A nice treat for a sister or BFF perhaps? 

Multi Strand Russian Doll Charm Necklace

 http://www.etsy.com/listing/49269563/multi-strand-russian-doll-necklace?ref=sr_list_22&ga_search_query=russian+doll+necklace&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_page=4&order=&includes[]=tags&includes[]=title 

15 USD (approx. £9.92) Three different lengths of gold chain support a red porcelain russian doll, a gold metal rose and a blue rhinestone set ring. The longest length of chain measures 56cm (22″) and the shortest 40cm ( 17″). A fun piece to wear. 

My uncle bought my sister and I a Russian Doll from Bulgaria, when we were little. Oh the hours we spent taking her apart and putting her together again. Not sure Mum was too happy at the time, especially not when she was trying to hoover around us and the mini baby doll kept shooting up the Dyson. 

Teacup and saucer charm necklace

 http://www.etsy.com/listing/50858076/floral-porcelain-teacup-and-saucer?ref=sr_list_25&ga_search_query=necklace++charm+tea&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_page=3&order=&includes[]=tags&includes[]=title 

20 USD (approx. £13.23) A teacup decorated with flowers sits on a matching Saucer accompanied by a tiny 6mm (0.24″) Turquoise Green Czech glass bead. The teacup is a beautiful dollhouse miniature.
These charms hang from a gold plated chain with gold plated lobster clasp closure.  The measure of the teacup charm is about 13 mm (0.51″). The length of the chain is about 45.72 cm (18″) but can be adjusted free of charge. Let the seller know in the “Notes to Seller” box at the end of checkout. Each purchase will be sent in a nice gift box tied with raffia and a gift tag. 

I love tea. I’ve said it before and I’ll no doubt say it again. Who couldn’t love tea? Even Lady Gaga loves to hang a cup around her neck and takes one along to the stage when she accepts her MTV awards. If it’s good enough for Gaga, it’s good enough for me. Gaga. Oh la la. She loves a teacup. 

I hope that you found something you like on here and if the bank manager asks; say Maths wasn’t your strong point at school and give him a look that’s a mixture of sad puppy and desperate damsel.

Written by shelleyhanveywriter

July 13, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These are some beautiful necklaces that have symbolic meaning as well as stylish perks.

    Hooks & Hangers

    August 4, 2010 at 10:07 pm


Leave a comment